ASLE-UKI Book Prize Shortlist 2023

We are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2023 ASLE-UKI Book Prize.

There are two categories:

  1. the best academic monograph in ecocriticism and the environmental humanities published at any time in 2021 or 2022.
  2. the best work of creative writing in any form or genre with an ecological theme published at any time in 2021 or 2022.

The shortlisted titles are as follows. The winners will be announced at the 2023 ASLE-UKI Conference in Liverpool.

 1. Best academic monograph:

D. H. Lawrence, Ecofeminism and Nature, Terry Gifford
Poetry and Commons, Daniel Eltringham
Creaturely Forms in Contemporary Literature, Dominic O’Key
Contemporary Fiction and Climate Uncertainty: Narrating Unstable Futures, Marco Caracciolo
Modern British Nature Writing, 1789-2020: Land Lines, Will Abberley, Christina Alt, David Higgins, Graham Huggan, Pippa Marland.
African Ecomedia: Network Forms, Planetary Politics, Cajetan Iheka.

2. Best work of creative writing:

Fergus the Silent, Michael McCarthy (novel)
Leaf, Anne Elvey (poetry)
Visions and Feed, Maria Sledmere (poetry)
Cut Flowers, Harriet Tarlo (poetry)
The European Eel, Steve Ely (poetry)
Venomous Lumpsucker, Ned Beauman (novel)
How Beautiful We Were, Imbolo Mbue (novel)
Under the Blue, Oana Aristide (novel)
Shalimar, Davina Quinlivan (memoir)