The 2016 INSPIRE Lecture on Literature and Sustainability: Green Knowledge. Deadline now passed.

Public Lecture Competition

Institute of Sustainable Practice and Resource Effectiveness (INSPIRE) at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David and ASLE-UKI – Association for the Study of Literature and Environment (UK & Ireland) present:

The 2016 INSPIRE Lecture on Literature and Sustainability: Green Knowledge

Winning lecture to be delivered at the 2016 Hay Festival, Hay-on-Wye


Sustainability is a matter of literature as much as it is about politics or environmental science. The stories we tell, the poems we compose, the dramas we enact – all provide spaces for inspiration, imagination, and debate on the questions of what it means to live sustainably.

This competition invites submissions that explore how literature, in any of its forms, responds to and is shaped by our capacity to know the natural world in the context of debates around sustainability. Entrants should submit the text of a half-hour public lecture, which is both scholarly and accessible to an audience ranging from interested lay-people to professional literary critics and sustainability practitioners.

The winner of the competition will be invited to deliver her/his submission as ‘The 2016 INSPIRE Lecture on Literature and Sustainability’ at the 2016 Hay Festival of Literature and the Arts (Hay-on-Wye, 26 May – 5 June 2016). The lecture will be followed by a public discussion between the competition winner and Jane Davidson, Director of INSPIRE and former Welsh Government Minister for Sustainability. (For the Hay Festivals website, see:

Judges – The judging panel will consist of representatives from the University of Wales Trinity Saint David and ASLE UKI.

Entry to the competition is free, but must be accompanied by an official entry form. Only one entry per person is permitted.

Full terms and conditions are available here

The entry form is downloadable here

The competition call can be downloaded here

The closing date for entries is January 31st 2015

Previous winners:

2015: Hayden Gabriel (University of St Mark and St John)

2014: Richard Kerridge (Bath Spa University)

2013: Jayne Elisabeth Archer, Richard Margraff Turley and Howard Thomas (Aberystwyth University)